Capitalizing on Hate

A few years ago, I invested in some stock with a few companies that I loved… Some stocks were WWE, Krispy Kreme , sneakers, pet supplies and some others, that I don’t care to remember. Besides having a 401k, I didn’t really care much for investing after that. My return was not that great. Some of the others were slow and steady, but nothing to brag about. My original thinking was,  since I was a strong, passionate advocate, it was a sure win.

After failing on return many times, my thinking was…what if I invested in companies that I wasn’t too fond of?   Those bad, big profitable, greedy companies that socialize their losses and privatize profits.  .. oil and gas companies,  .big insurance companies and financial banks.  Maybe my return would have been different.  Insurance and bank stock is at an all time low for buyers. Top oil and gas companies have great ratings. Natural gas is booming too. Automobile manufacturing is making a comeback. For me, it was just too painful to make sense of it all, the ability to put myself on their side and make an investment because their reputation was just so awful. How do you invest in something when you are taking an opposing position?

Now, that you see what I am getting to,  I might actually take my hypothesis and use it on real life people that I shy away from too. I think the same results may apply here. I have lots of “comfortable” relationships. They get me nice smiles, handshakes and greetings, but that’s about it. Sometimes I run into colleagues, ex workers and people from my past that have made things unpleasant, but they are always giving me something to think about.  For the most part they weren’t jerks. Maybe we focus too much on people that make things comfortable and miss out on other opportunities? Every day people that used to annoy me were:

1) challenging, confrontational, direct

2) efficient and on the go

3) had high expectations

4) outspoken, talked too much

I think most of my annoyance for people from my past fit into 1 of those categories.  If you think about it, it’s nothing major. They didn’t waste time engaging in a conversation, they presented a challenge and presented a timeline for a solution and were highly efficient. I think, besides the bit of discomfort… I would say sometimes, there was more benefit to knowing these people than the best buddy from college. Good friends tend to “beat around the bush” and say things that the other person wants to hear. They are good for “comfy” weekends and to sit next to at a bar to and listen to gossip. They laugh at your jokes. They tell you that you’re right and always side with you.  Not presenting challenges is the same as being nice? No?

If you are looking for a “return” in a relationship…I say …look for people that you are not too fond of.  I wonder how prosperous our lives would be if we secretly knew our  discomfort for people had a hidden return. I would invest in the Yankees, gas companies, embrace competition with most people, trust my bank and mortgage broker, have better conversations with my real estate agent, give more family members attention and listen way more.

Do our comfort zones make us predictable relationship investors? I guarantee one of those people that you hate so much..there is a huge return on the other side of the rainbow.

2 thoughts on “Capitalizing on Hate

Leave a Reply

