Smart Technology and Good Manners

This particular post was originally a short story and later on I thought I had a valid point. After a few edits, I thought it worked. I am still not sure. After publishing this, I have slowly found out that this argument has been beat to crap and maybe I am over analyzing..

Today, I walked into my bank and the ATM machine said, ” Good morning!” I made a withdrawl and the ATM machine said, ” thank you for your service.” I walked to my car and my GPS machine asks me, ” Where would you like to go?” I drove off to my destination as my smart phone was ringing, asking me if I would like to answer it. I walk to my office cubicle and my co workers are already arguing and bickering over tedious issues and it’s only 8:23 am. I go and get a cup of coffee and the coffee maker asks me, “What kind of coffee would I like?” I tell our voice interactive coffeemaker to make me a “regular cup” please and then I walk back into chaos.

One of the reasons I love good technology is because of its good manners and how I respond and feel after interacting with them. Seriously. It’s refreshing and new, especially when people are in bad moods or they aren’t there at all. My bickering co workers and hostile friends don’t seem to care for the new world. They think it’s creepy. Talking to a machine?

I do have a close friend, that has fully embraced Smart technology. He has smart phones, TiVos, a talking i-pad, even smart appliances. Yes, he has a refrigerator that asks him, what he wants to eat that helps you diet and keeps track of your groceries and his ovens and washing machines are even controlled via smartphone. Yes, it is a little extreme, especially for 2012, but the point is, is that he is extremely polite, efficient and respectful. Sure, his vacations are organized, dynamic, fast paced and there is no time for relaxation, but that’s a different story.

Nice, polite people are mysterious to me. I’m intrigued.  At first, I had suspected that one of the primary reasons  he is so considerate, is that he loves his technology and he always has “buyer happiness.” There is no remorse or regret at all. His voids are filled. He surrounds himself with what he loves. The same way people surround themselves with positive people, or plants or bright colored walls or art.

Years went by, as I secretly wondered why he was never unhappy. Why did I have the need to compare my good natured friend to the rest of angry, miserable society? Why would smart technology make a difference?

My final conclusion is his refined personality lies somewhere between the “monkey see, monkey do” philosophy and being a product of his own friendly environment, interacting with continuous polite voices, gestures and emotions every day. He’s like Michael Knight of Knight Rider.

People do it all the time. They can’t leave their phones.  One day it will be more apparent, the more polite our belongings are, the more polite we are. And then we attach. Almost like a cute puppy or kitten. And then we find other things that compliment it. And we attach again.

Home automation will soon take over and we’ll be forced to throw everything out that can’t integrate with our home systems. We’ll only attach to new things that attach to our old things.

http://home.howstuffworks.com/smart-home.htm

Maybe, my hostile friends don’t surround themselves with well mannered, interactive technology yet. But, when they do, will that indicate  how often they say, “please and thank you?” So why are we not seeing more smart homes? Is this the answer to a nicer, more polite society? If anyone has any ideas or insight toward cost, or the first steps of acquiring a smart home or home automation, please post and share.

4 thoughts on “Smart Technology and Good Manners

  1. Just FYI..my original draft was about how good manners cant keep up with technology. But, the “friend” I do have…is 110% true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

